Super fun backpack!

I picked up this lovely owl fabric at Joann for $4 a yard. Despite my self-imposed moratorium on fabric purchasing without a planned project, I bought 2 yards. I also was picking up a yard of hot pink for a different project (as yet undone, but planned!) and grabbed a yard of the solid blue on sale, too.

I snagged the Simplicity 1388 pattern for super cheap, I think 99 cents. Add in a $2 buckle, D-rings, velcro and interfacing from my stash and (Darnitall! Too big!) black cording (Should have gone with white, and smaller diameter, I’ll pick up a new version sometime soon!), and I have a super cute owl backpack.

My super cute owl backpack from Simplicity pattern 1388. LOVE IT!

My super cute owl backpack from Simplicity pattern 1388. LOVE IT!

I heart it. It’s a smidge too large for my everyday needs, and I didn’t follow instructions for the straps (she used webbing). I also added a top-loop handle, which has already proven handy.

I found the pattern very easy to follow. I had a lot of fun playing the color combos, but it is a LOT of pieces to cut and interface. The interior of each pocket and the inside of the bag are all in the blue. My interior zippered pocket has a hot pink zipper and lining.

Am I the only one who seems to finish their carry-on bag a day before they leave for vacation? I’ve done that twice now!

This is a fun bag to put together, once the cutting and interfacing are all done (I generally don’t find cutting fun. Can’t be the only one!). I really like the way the top drawstring channel was created, and will definitely use that technique in the future. I had also never made exterior pockets this way, and will certainly do that again. The pockets are very useful sizes, and I love the pop of color!

What have you been working on? I think I’m planning another, smaller backpack (view A) from  this pattern set in the owl fabric. Will have to check what zippers it needs and what I have on hand.

Speaking of zippers! Got my wawak.com order  – buy 2 get one free, so I bought 2 25-packs, and those worked with the sale so I got 75 zippers in 14″ and 11″ lengths in a variety of colors. I had never used the site before, but shipping was reasonable and fast. Price per zipper was far, far cheaper than buying individually at Joann.

Leave a Reply

