Getting motivated

Summer. I love it. Cool drinks, warm sun, a breeze, a book… ahhhh.

But it can be so hard to take the time to enjoy the sunny days. Kids, work, house, hobbies, kids … everything still needs to be done. Boss doesn’t like it when you call out because it’s sunny. Kids still need guidance. And food. Lil stinkers like to eat 3+ times a day!

My sewing hobby has captivated my interest again, after a long post-holiday break. I made a messenger bag for my sister’s birthday — black and white with a pop of hot pink and a hot pink interior — along with a zippered pouch, a sunglasses case and a monogrammed keychain, all in the same fabrics.Turned out so cute, but my photos left a lot to be desired. I was already a week late getting it all finished (but we’re like that, she and I), so I packaged it up and sent it off without taking good photos.

Told ya the photos were awful! But I love this messenger bag I made for my sister, and it was HARD to package it up and mail it out!

Told ya the photos were awful! But I love this messenger bag I made for my sister, and it was HARD to package it up and mail it out!

I have also completed a couple of other bags and zippered wristlets which I adore! (more to come on those later this week!)

Keep reading: Photos and links to tuts used

 Told ya the photos were awful! But I love this messenger bag I made for my sister, and it was HARD to package it up and mail it out!

Told ya the photos were awful! But I love this messenger bag I made for my sister, and it was HARD to package it up and mail it out!

 I used this tut for the ruffled accent strip, and made a flower accent that I didn’t get a photo of, like this: Messenger Bag Tutorial by Yards and Yards

 

Interior - Love the zippered pocket!

Interior – Love the zippered pocket!

I used this Messenger Bag Tutorial by Heart of Mary for the bag construction. I really love how the gusset gives it depth and makes it stand up.

I made a Sunglasses Case using a pattern from the Sewing Loft.

Bag3

Sunglasses case – love that hot pink interior!

And (can you believe it!? More fun links!) I made a keyfob like these from Craftiness Is Not Optional

 

 

2 thoughts on “Getting motivated

Leave a Reply

