Welcome!

I’m Betsy. A 30-something, working, suburban mom of two. I’m into sewing (for me and my young daughters), photography, reading, TV, and chocolate. Oh, and wine. Please, sit for a spell and join me!

Here’s my most recent sewing project – a fast and easy three-layered skirt, perfect for summer, and best of all, both girls love them!

I used this layered skirt tutorial from Crazy Little Projects. It’s designed for a baby, but it was easily scale-able up to a 6T and a 7, which my girls are wearing now.

It’s important for every home sewist mama to have their children’s measurements written down. I have a cute little notebook on my sewing table that has chest, waist, waist-to-knee  and shoulder-to-just-above-the-knee measurements for each of my daughters. That makes it easier on everyone, since every time I try to measure them it ends up being something akin to a WWE Battle Royale. Then, each time they go up a size in store-bought clothes, simply measure them again.

My oldest, destined to be a supermodel, picked out her own fabrics from my stash. I guided my little one, a preschooler, toward the fabrics for hers. Both girls love their skirts, and are asking for cherry/watermelon/cherry skirts, too. Good thing I have more fabric in my hoard (oops, I mean stash) – and these are so easy to make, I can’t say no! Next time I make one, I’ll take photos of the process and post my measurements.

I may also find a different way to encase the elastic – there ends up being a LOT of fabric to sew through with this method.

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

